Recognizing Pro-Business Lawmakers: In 2018, Rep. Mario Diaz-Balart (R-Fl) (r) was presented the IFDA Thomas Jefferson Award for Distinguished Service by Chip Kunde, vice president of government relations, Sysco Corporation.

IFDA Members Recognize Legislators Who Support Free Market Principles 

Eating out is part of American life and the foodservice industry employs millions of people. Foodservice distributors play a vital role in that industry, delivering food and other goods to professional kitchens across the U.S. IFDA and its members honored 283 lawmakers with the 2018 IFDA Thomas Jefferson Award — an award presented to legislators who actively support the free enterprise system.

During each Congress, IFDA presents this award to Senators and Members of Congress who demonstrate, through their voting record, a commitment to increasing economic opportunity and reducing government regulation. The 2018 award is based on votes during the 115th Congress on issues critical to the health of the foodservice distribution industry and the nation's overall economy. Recipients of the award in the House of Representatives — 233 lawmakers — supported IFDA’s position on at least 70 percent of 12 House votes deemed important to the industry. In the Senate, 8 key votes were rated and 50 Senators received the award.

Lists of the votes that were rated and lists of the award recipients are available below.

115th Congress House Key Votes
115th Congress Senate Key Votes
2018 House of Representatives Recipients
2018 Senate Recipients

"A wise and frugal government . . . shall leave men . . . free to regulate their own pursuits of industry and improvement, and shall not take from the mouth of labor the bread it has earned. This is the sum of good government."

During his first inaugural address, Thomas Jefferson articulated the principles of free enterprise. In the spirit of these principles, IFDA presents the IFDA Thomas Jefferson Awards to recognize lawmakers who support pro-growth, fiscally responsible policy.